GATE Supervising Teacher of the Year

This award, in honor Robert Knowles, a former president of GATE (1975-1976) and an educator at both the public school and college level, recognizes a classroom teacher whose teaching and supervision excellence merits special recognition.  It carries a monetary stipend, a year’s membership in GATE and an appropriate plaque.

Nominations should be typed and in letter form.  They should emphasize the unique contribution made to your program and/or contribution to the profession.  The submission should be limited to one letter of recommendation and no more than two pages. More than one person may nominate on the same letter. Please include the address of the nominee, the work site, and the name of the principal or superintendent.  Two additional letters of support should be included in the nomination packet.  No nomination letters will be returned.

Award Criteria:
  • Must be a classroom teacher in a Georgia public county or city school system or in a private independent or parochial school in Georgia.
  • Extensive experience with student teachers from teacher education programs in colleges and universities in the state.   It is desirable, but not mandatory, that the recipient also have experience working with early field experience students prior to their student teaching.
  • Must demonstrate a cooperative attitude in working with college or university personnel.
  • Must be prepared for effective supervision. Evidence of preparation may include, but not limited to, seminars, and workshops for the development of supervision skills and Supervising Teacher Service (TSS) certification.

Nomination Packet Must Include:

  • Cover page to include nominee’s name, telephone number and e-mail address, name and address of employing school, job title with description of position and explanation of duties, dates of employment; name and contact information of person nominating and his/her position in State Affiliate if applicable.
  • Letters from supervisors, peers, students, and professional colleagues to support nomination (no more than three).
  • Other documentation that demonstrates or confirms outstanding performance or meritorious service as a teacher educator, for example: newspaper articles, award certificates, other commendations, invitations to present, expression of appreciation, program materials developed by the nominee.

Deadline for receipt of nominations:  August 15, 2018

Mail or email all nominations to:

Dr. Janet Strickland, University of West Georgia

160 Forest Hall Place

Fayetteville, Georgia  30214

Award Winners:

2018:  Jo Smith, Winterville Elementary School, Clarke County

2017:  Ebony Robinson, North Columbus Elementary School, Muscogee County

2016:  Marci McKeever, Turner Woods Elementary School, Jones County

2015:  Cheryl Nicolls, Brooks Elementary School, Coweta County

2014:  Gloria Anderson, Timothy Road Elementary School, Clarke County

2013:  Cheryl Wright, Isle of Hope Elementary School

2012:  Michelle Mark, Dunwoody Springs Elementary School

2011:  Marianne Ayoob, Barnett Shoals Elementary School

2010:  Michelle Whitmire, Holly Springs Elementary School

2009:  Angela Susan Brooks and Elizabeth Royer

2008:  not awarded

2007:  Cindy Butler, Richard Hill Primary School

2006:  Jennifer Okiyama, Dunwoody Springs Charter School

2005:  not awarded